Indianapolis, Indiana, USA Skyline

With 2018 history, and 2019 just beginning, you might think you can toss your concerns about elections along with last year's calendar. 

Not so fast.

The municipal primary election is scheduled for May 7, and the general election will be Nov. 5. In addition, Marion County will be moving to vote centers, and away from paper ballots.

The following is a list provided to NUVO by Derrick Johnson, lead election clerk, of all the municipal offices before Marion County voters in 2019:

  • Beech Grove: City Clerk-Treasurer; City Common Council (Two At-Large Seats, and Districts 1-5); City Judge; and Mayor.

  • Clermont: Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Two At-Large Seats).

  • Crow's Nest: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Three At-Large Seats).

  • Cumberland: Town Clerk-Treasurer; Town Council (Districts 1-4); and Town Judge.

  • Homecroft: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Council (Four At-Large Seats).

  • Indianapolis/Marion County: City-County Council (Districts 1-25); and Mayor.

  • Lawrence: City Clerk; City Common Council (Three At-Large Seats, and Districts 1-6); and Mayor.

  • Meridian Hills: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Three At-Large Seats).

  • Rocky Ripple: Town Council Member (Three At-Large Seats).

  • Southport: City Clerk-Treasurer; City Common Council (One At-Large Seat, and Districts 1-4); and Mayor.

  • Speedway: Town Council (Districts 1-5).

  • Warren Park: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Two At-Large Seats).

  • William's Creek: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council (Two At-Large Seats).

  • Wynnedale: Town Clerk-Treasurer; and Town Council Member (Five At-Large Seats).

Though candidates don't officially begin declaring with the Marion County Elections Board to be included on the ballot until Jan. 9, there have been a few candidates who have already made their intentions known.

Mayor Joe Hogsett

Mayor Joe Hogsett

Hogsett Running For Re-Election

Dec. 5, a not-so-mysterious announcement was released by the Marion County Democratic Party advising “Mayor Joe Hogsett will join community members for a special campaign announcement at the Phoenix Theatre.”

The reason soon became clear as Hogsett officially announced his candidacy for re-election.

Dec. 19, Kate Sweeney Bell, Marion County Democratic Party chair, announced two hires for Hogsett's 2019 municipal election campaign team. Peter Luster was named the county-wide coordinated campaign manager, and Heather K. Sager was named campaign spokesperson for the Hogsett for Indianapolis re-election campaign.

Dec. 20, the Indianapolis Professional Firefighters Union Local 416 announced their unanimous support for Hogsett’s re-election. The Indianapolis Professional Firefighters Union Local 416 represents over 2,300 firefighters in Indianapolis and Marion County.

But, Hogsett may soon face stiff competition as he looks to retain his seat this year.

Merritt Seeking Hogsett's Job?

First elected to represent District 31 in the Indiana State Senate in 1990, Merritt defeated Democratic challenger Derek Camp at the polls during last month's midterm election by a 51.4 percent to 48.6 percent margin.

After Hogsett announced his intentions to run for re-election, Jim Merritt, Marion County Republican Central Committee chairman, had some less-than-encouraging words.

“Nearly three years ago, and with great fanfare, Joe Hogsett became Mayor of Indianapolis,” he wrote in a Dec. 5 press release. “Since then, our City has seen our infrastructure crumble and our neighborhoods shaken by record-setting homicides. Sadly, the self-described 'public safety Mayor' has been anything but. With today's seemingly reluctant decision to seek re-election, we look forward to a robust discussion on his record and how new leadership can make our city a safer and a more vibrant place to raise a family and pursue your dreams.”

Then, on Dec. 14, Merritt announced his resignation from that post effective immediately.

Though his farewell message didn't spell it out, speculation immediately swarmed around Merritt's intentions to seek Hogsett's job. A message for Merritt seeking comment left by NUVO was not returned as of press time.

Editor's note: Merritt announced his candidacy on Jan. 10, 2019

City Flag

Register to vote

To vote in the upcoming 2019 primary and general elections, you must be registered to vote in Marion County. To register, you must:

  1. Be a citizen of the United States

  2. Be at 18 years of age by Nov. 5, 2019

  3. Have lived at your current residence for 30 days prior to election

  4. Not be incarcerated

Local government has a handy website at where can check your registration to see if it’s up to date.

When you register to vote, you need to provide your Indiana driver’s license number, state identification number, or last four digits of your social security number. The state of Indiana will use the digitized signature that’s on file with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles as your voter registration signature.

For the May 8, 2018 primary election, the deadline to submit a voter registration form is April 9, 2018. For the Nov. 6, 2018 general election, the deadline to submit a registration form is Oct. 8, 2018.

You can register in person at the Marion County Board of Voters Registration in the City-Council Building, branches of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Township Trustee Offices, and Indianapolis/Marion County Public Library branches.


Rob Burgess, News Editor at NUVO, can be reached by email at, by phone at 317-808-4614 or on Twitter @robaburg.

In this Series